Posted in Reviews

Review: Matched (Ally Condie)

20131019-205103.jpg
The Book: Matched
The Author: Ally Condie
The Publisher: Penguin The Pages: 384
My Rating: 4/5

In the Society, Officials decide. Who you love. Where you work. When you die. Cassia has always trusted their choices. It’s hardly any price to pay for a long life, the perfect job, the ideal mate. So when her best friend appears on the Matching screen, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is the one… until she sees another face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. Now Cassia is faced with impossible choices: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path no one else has ever dared follow — between perfection and passion.

Review:

This book is about a girl named Cassia. She lives in a seemingly perfect society where everything is chosen for you. Your job. The books you read. The person you love. Cassia believes whole-heartedly in her society until, on the most important day of her life, one small glitch causes her to question everything she’s ever believed. Now nothing is the same to her and she starts to doubt that the Society is as perfect as she first thought.

The first time I ever saw this book was in my local bookshop. I wandered in browsing aimlessly and content and the cover just grabbed my attention drew me in at once! It’s such a simple, elegant design, both beautiful and intriguing. I immediately bought both Matched and its sequel Crossed. I’ll admit that it was such a gripping page turner that I didn’t put it down all day until I finished it. (To the great dismay of my teacher who’s homework got mysteriously lost/forgotten/eaten).

I really enjoyed reading this book, as I think the characters are beautifully portrayed and I fell in love with them and the world it’s set in almost instantly. (Not just falling in love with the guys this time like I usually do! I loved almost all the characters!) I particularly enjoyed how connected I felt to the characters whilst i was reading the book, so much that i’ll admit that I cried with Cassia a few times during the book, (and laughed out loud, looking slightly crazy on the bus). In my opinion that is the single most important thing in a book, the ability to connect with the characters an feel everything along with them.

I enjoy how everything grows and evolves during the book, and I really loved the way the society the characters live in seems beautiful and perfect at first, as that is how the main character, Cassia, sees it. But as Cassia evolves as a character, the way you view the society evolves with her. This is a refreshing change from the boring predictable characters in a lot of YA fiction nowadays.

I must say, I really love the names used in this book. Cassia, Xander and Ky. I think they’re great names that aren’t over used and so are unique to this book. Character’s names is such an important component to a great read but you tend not to notice their importance until you come across really terrible ones.

Howeverrrrrr, (there’s always a but), I did only give it four stars because, despite how connected I felt to the characters and how drawn in I was by the world they lived in, the book and the characters didn’t stay with me after I’d finished the book. I like my characters to be constantly with me for at least a week or so after I’ve closed the book, resulting in what I call a ‘good book hangover’, (the cure for which is another good book). Also I felt the book was missing something vital that kept it from going from a book I loved to a book I adored.

Even so, I will withhold my final judgement until I’ve read the entire trilogy!
I would recommend this the everyone. Especially if you’re into the current YA dystopia craze!

★★★★☆

Leave a Reply

