Posted in Reviews

Review: The Fault In Our Stars (John Green)

20131020-194639.jpg
The Book: The Fault In Our Stars.
The Author: John Green.
The Publisher: Penguin
The Pages: 313
My Rating: 5/5

Despite the tumour-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.
Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning author John Green’s most ambitious and heartbreaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love
.

Review.

“Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.”

Sixteen year old terminal cancer patient Hazel Grace’s life is completely changed when she meets the beautiful, intriguing Augustus Waters. After bonding over a book (the best way to bond), Hazel falls for Augustus’ charms and is swept into the most exciting few months of her life. Augustus shows her metaphors, hope, a world of possibility and most importantly of all love.

When I first received this beautiful, beautiful book, I was actually in the middle of reading something else and so I opened it only intending to read the first chapter and ended up not putting in down again until I’d turned the last page. It really is that good. I never loved a book as quickly and completely as I fell in love with this one.

Firstly, I will admit I’m not really into “cancer books”, although I’ve read a few surprisingly good ones recently. However, I’ve never read a book quite as brilliant as this one. The fact is, it so ingeniously and uniquely written (thanks to the ever brilliant John Green) that no matter what the storyline was, it would still be one of the greatest books ever written. As it was, the storyline was amazing as well, putting this book extremely high in my list of all-time favourite books.

All the characters in this book were well thought out and brilliantly created. However, this book owes alot of its ‘incredible-ness’ (not sure that’s a word, but it is now) to the most charming, witty, intelligent character ever created: Augustus Waters. (yes, I’m a little in love with him. He quotes poetry, he reads, he’s charming; what’s not to love?!) Augustus Waters (or ‘Gus) is a seventeen year old amputee who meets our main character Hazel Grace when he attends a Cancer Kid Support Group meeting in “the literal heart of Jesus”. When asked by the support group leader to share some of his fears Augustus replied “I fear oblivion,” he said without a moment’s pause. “I fear it like the proverbial blind man who’s afraid of the dark.” believe that that was the moment the entire world fell in love with Augustus Waters. He then falls for the wonderful Hazel Grace and he gives her the few months that everyone would love to experience.

This book is bold, daring, funny, intelligent and heartbreakingly perfect. I can never thank John Green enough for giving me and the world something so amazing. As you can tell, I’m in love with this book. But if you can’t take my word for it then I implore you to go and read it. And if you’ve read it already, read it again. Then read all his other books. Now. Go. Please.

So yeah, five stars without a doubt. Reccommended to all!

★★★★★

2 thoughts on “Review: The Fault In Our Stars (John Green)

  1. I really liked this one and although people consider this one to be there favourite john green book i’ve always viewed it as the most romantic and funniest but my favourite remins looking for alaska. I like how this book is so much more than just a cancer book and how i literally laughed out loud a hundred times while reading it. Great review 🙂
    Lily @ Lilysbookblog

    1. I totally agree! I loved this book with all my heart but I will always prefer Looking for Alaska. But to be honest I haven’t read anything he’s written that I haven’t loved! And thankyou so much! xx

Leave a Reply

