Posted in Debates

(To write or not to write)

Do you highlight / write in your books? Jot notes in the margins? Highlight favourite passages or underline the quotes you love?

20131022-203952.jpg
Personally I don’t, I like the idea but I can’t bring myself to mark my books. If you can’t understand why anyone would or if you can’t understand why people wouldn’t, I’ll show you both sides of the write / not write debate.

Reasons to write,

20131022-203039.jpg
One if the reasons that highlighting and note making in books can be seen as good is that it allows you to flip through the book after you’ve finished and re-read your favourite parts and relive the book through the parts that you’ve highlighted.
Also it really makes the book your own, original and personal to you. You can store your emotions and feelings in the book and highlight passages that mean something to you.
Finally think about what a nice thing that’d be to pass on to your children/grandchildren! So they can keep it safe and it’s a very emotional personal thing for them to keep.

Reasons NOT to write,

20131022-201552.jpg First of all I don’t write in my books because I’m an utter neat freak when it comes to my books. I can’t be breaking the spines or folding the corners of pages over. I like my books to look well read and well loved but not scratty and ruined. So of course writing in them is a definite no no for me. Especially if you were highlighting and you highlighted the wrong sentence or slipped whilst you were highlighting?! I’d feel like I’d ruined the whole book.
Secondly, you ruin the experience for anyone who reads the book after you. All your highlights and notes will stop the next reader from having a completely new fresh experience of the book.
One thing I hate the most about writing in books is fluorescent highlighters. I can cope with people underlining certain passages in pen/pencil but not bright pink/green/yellow highlighters! Yuck!

So yeah, those are the arguments and you can see my opinion (as usual I make my opinion known!). What do you think?
To Write Or Not To Write?

2 thoughts on “(To write or not to write)

  1. Hi! This is the first time I’ve checked out your blog and really like this discussion post! Personally, I don’t highlight or mark my books in any way although, I do stick post-it-notes on the pages sometimes – when I feel like I want to write the best review! They keep all my thoughts organised – but, once the review is written, they got back on my shelf without all the post-its stuck to the pages.
    Fellow neat-freak,
    Sophie

    1. Yay! Thanks for commenting! And phew, I’m glad I’m not the only total neat freak when it comes to my books! Haha! That’s such a good idea about post it notes though! Although sometimes I’m so engrossed in my book I don’t have time to stop and scribble a note! Lovely to hear your thoughts! xx

Leave a Reply

