Posted in Reviews

Review: Beautiful Creatures (Garcia and Stohl)

20131028-132741.jpgThe Book: Beautiful Creatures.
The Author: Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl.
The Publisher: Penguin
The Pages: 563
My Rating: 2/5

Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she’s struggling to conceal her power, and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town’s oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.

In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.

Review.

Beautiful Creatures is the first book in the caster chronicles series.

This book has been insanely popular and a lot of people love this book.

WHY?!

I was so excited to read this book, with all the hype of how great it was and the fact that it was getting turned into a film I thought ‘it must be so brilliant!’. I have never been so wrong. This book (in my opinion) was utterly dreadful.

Some things I DID like, was the covers for the series. There are four books and the covers look so pretty on my bookshelf. (Yes I own them all, but they were a gift and I’m so glad I didn’t waste my money on them). I also like the general idea if the books. It’s a new take in witches, which hasn’t been overdone to death (like vampires) and I really liked the idea. Also the plot itself was actually okay! It was fairly original and interesting enough that I finished the book. I also liked that it was from a guys perpective, which isn’t done as much.

Okay, so what I didn’t like was pretty much everything else.

First of all, the book was from the point of view of Ethan Wate. One of the most annoying, ‘I’m better than everyone else’ -obsessed people ever. He wants to escape from his small town, and basically dislikes everyone in the town because they don’t think like him. So, because they don’t want to go to a big city and they like their lives and the people they live with, he labels them all stupid and small minded. Even when he’s with the people he calls his ‘friends’ he’s thinking how much he doesn’t want to be with them.

An that’s another thing, I don’t know what a little ‘southern town’ is actually like but this book is the biggest stereotype ever. The author has actually portrayed everyone in the town except Ethan and his family (who are originally from ‘out of town’) as small minded bigots! (WHAT A STEREOTYPE). It’s just out of order. It actually says in the book that Ethan doesn’t have a southern accent because his parents were educated!

Also I dislike the idea of love at first sight, it unrealistic and overdone. So annoying. This book takes it one step further into the realm of stupid unrealistic love. Ethan falls in love with Lena, when he sees her in his dream. In Ethan’s own words “Kinda like love before first sight.” Wow. How realistic! If I had a pound for everytime that’s happened Id have… Uh… NOTHING.

The actual storyline wasn’t that bad, and If you take out Ethan’s annoying-ness, Lena’s unoriginal greener than green eyes, the insane amount of stereotypes and the authors mind numbing irritating writing style then I think this book would have been ok! It’s an interesting clever plot line, I just don’t like the characters or the way it’s written.

I’m not good at articulating my thoughts so that other people will agree with me. I’ve tried to get across how much I disliked the book, and justify why I didn’t like it. I don’t want to be horrible to the authors and I can see the hard work and passion that went into this book. It’s better than anything I could write and I think a lot if people will like this book still. It just wasn’t for me. It has good aspects and bad aspects (like any book) but for me the bad parts were too much and they outweighed the good parts.

So only two stars from me. But I recommend you at least read the first book and decide for yourselves!

★★☆☆☆ – “meh” this book really wasn’t for me. I managed to finish it but I can’t say I overly enjoyed it.

Please comment if you agree (I’d like to know if I’m not alone in this) and if you disagree! I want to hear your thoughts!

2 thoughts on “Review: Beautiful Creatures (Garcia and Stohl)

  1. Thanks for your review. I was quite curious about this book. Now, I don’t think it is my kind of book. (Which is nice to know, because I have very little reading time. lol )

Leave a Reply

