Posted in Events

Halloween Week (BOOks)

*ominous footsteps*

20131030-105557.jpgFor my special Halloween post I shall be posting the good things about Halloween, some of my favourite Halloween/scary books, my scary film recommendations and my super spooky giveaway winner announced!

My favourite Halloween/scary books,

.Okay so my biggest recommendation if you’re looking for a scary read HAS to be Darren Shan’s books. I am a humongous fan of ALL his books, I have an entire shelf (and a bit) dedicated to his books.
His ‘Saga of Darren Shan’ series were the first of his books that I read. Then I read the series which I’m going to feature as my Halloween recommendation! *drum roll* …
The Demonata!’ A brilliant brilliant series and well worth a read! This series first of all follows the life of Grubitsch (Grubbss) Grady, who starts of as a normal teenage boy with absolutely no idea of the horror awaiting him in his future. From the first book in the series ‘Lord Loss’:

“The door feels red hot, as though a fire is burning behind it. I press an ear to the wood – but there’s no crackle. No smoke. Just deep heavy breathing… and a curious dripping sound. My hand’s on the door knob. Inside the room, somebody giggles – low, throaty, sadistic. There’s a ripping sound, followed by snaps and crunches. My hand turns. The door opens. Hell is revealed.”

Demons and werewolves and magic! What’s not to love?

20131025-201846.jpg.

Another set of books I want to recommend are one (I hope) you’ve all heard of before!
GOOSEBUMPS.
There are loads of short goosebumps books, good ones, bad ones, funny ones and scary ones. Some good examples are ‘beast from the east’, ‘the haunted mask’, ‘One Day at Horror Land’, ‘Revenge of the Lawn Gnomes’, ‘Monster Blood’, ‘Attack of the Jack o’ lanterns’ and ‘The Horror at Camp Jellyjam’.

20131025-203817.jpg There are loads and loads of scary books out there that I could of recommended, but these are ones that I’ve enjoyed for a long time and I don’t think are appreciated by enough people!

What are your favourite Halloween reads that you don’t think enough people know about?! Let me know in the comments!

One thought on “Halloween Week (BOOks)

  1. I used to love reading Goosebumps when I was younger! I remember staying up all night at my cousin’s house just because I wanted to finish reading one of her copies before I had to go home in the morning.

Leave a Reply

