Posted in Reviews

Review: The Heroes Fall- When War Calls (Z. J. Rykoa)

20131126-193802.jpg
The Book: When War Calls
The Author: Z. J. Rykoa
The Publisher: Self-Published
The Pages: 468
My Rating: 4/5

“Our history was lost in World War III, we’ll remember in World War IV.

After learning of the catastrophic continental shifts, powerful
energy-wielding people roaming the planet and an illness that will kill him,
Jaden realises that he has decisions to make-decisions that could mean the
life and death of millions as he joins World War IV.
He is torn between the side of perceived-good, selfish revenge and the love of his life, and he is given power like few others; yet his heart simply
wants to return home, to be free of it all. But no matter how powerful he
becomes, there will always be things outside of his control, and he’ll have
to fight until the end to hold onto what he loves most.”

Review:
Wow, just wow, was my reaction upon finishing this book.
I started reading this book not really knowing what to expect, and not really sure if it was going to be something I’d enjoy.

However, a few chapters in and I was hooked. Beautifully written and with such a strong main character it’s difficult not to enjoy. From magic and war to beasts and men this book had everything.

The setting of this book is so detailed and engrossing, with unique place names and vivid descriptions of the world it’s set in, I had stunning images of everything in my head straight away. It’s seriously well written.

My favourite part if this books has to be the characters. From the main character Jaden to the characters mentioned in passing, all of them were so realistic with all their emotions and thoughts like real people. Because of this it wasn’t clear who were ‘the baddies’, just like in real life, the people on the other side are, at their core, just people too. I loved it.

This book had suspense and moments that had me nervous to turn the page! I felt everything along with all the characters, parts had me almost in tears! Really emotional.

I believe this book is the authors debut novel and with that in mind, I am massively impressed. There was so much detail and layers and layers of story that is so so difficult to get right even for experienced writers, and he managed it so well!

There were sections that felt clumsily written and parts that I felt weren’t explained as clearly as they could be, but it didn’t take away from the experience of the book at all.

This book has been categorised as a YA modern fantasy science fiction, and it’s all that and more. I thoroughly enjoyed it and can’t wait for the next book!

★★★★☆

You can get your hands on the eBook for free! Head to theheroesfall to grab it! Go go go!

3 thoughts on “Review: The Heroes Fall- When War Calls (Z. J. Rykoa)

  1. Ohhhh this looks good! Not just the beautiful cover, for once, has me hooked. I love the idea of future world wars, I’ve read so much about the past ones that to read about possible (although hopefully not) future ones seems really interesting! Thanks for sharing the review!

    1. It’s really good! I just can’t wait for the next one! Dying to know what happens! Aha! Yeah you should check it out, there’s a link for a free ebook of it at the bottom!
      Thanks for commenting! x

Leave a Reply

