Posted in Reviews

Review: The Unexpected Enlightenment of Rachel Griffin (L. Jagi Lamplighter)

20131201-114622.jpg
The Book: The Unexpected Enlightenment of Rachel Griffin
The Author: L. Jagi Lamplighter
The Publisher: Palomino Press
The Pages: 352
My Rating: 3/5

“Rachel Griffin wants to know everything. As a freshman at Roanoke Academy for the Sorcerous Arts, she has been granted the opportunity to study both mundane and magical subjects.
But even her perfect recollection of every book she has ever read does not help her when she finds a strange statue in the forest-a statue of a woman with wings. Nowhere-neither in the arcane tomes of the Wise, nor in the dictionary and encyclopedia of the non-magic-using Unwary-can she find mention of such a creature. What could it be?
And why are the statue’s wings missing when she returns?
When someone tries to kill a fellow student, Rachel soon realizes that, in the same way her World of the Wise hides from mundane folk, there is another, more secret world hiding from everyone-which her perfect recall allows her to remember. Her need to know everything drives her to investigate.
Rushing forward where others fear to tread, Rachel finds herself beset by wraiths, magical pranks, homework, a Raven said to bring the doom of worlds, love’s first blush, and at least one fire-breathing teacher.
Curiosity might kill a cat, but nothing stops Rachel Griffin!”

Review
Funny, uplifting and magical, this book was so brilliant!

I’ve been trying to read books that are different from what I usually read, and so I wasn’t 100% sure that I was going to fall in love with this book. The idea sounded like a young children’s book. However, whilst this book could easily be enjoyed by younger children, it’s definitely YA, which we know can very well be enjoyed by all ages. And I really did enjoy it! I could barely put it down!

The main character, Rachel Griffin, is such a lovely main character. She’s younger than most MC’s from this genre which was really nice to experience. She’s clever, loyal and not as bubble-headed as a lot of girl main character I’ve come across, (you know the type, oh look a boy! I’m in eternal love cause he smiled at me! Yeah right). She’s got so much passion and drive, I was tempted to make little flags and root for her whilst reading! She’s a really well written, well portrayed character who develops throughout the book. She and the other main characters felt real to me and stayed with me after I’d finished the book!

The story and the plot line were excellently written, and really gripping. I read the whole book in the space of two days, I had it out every spare minute even on the bus and whilst walking a couple of times! I mean come on! A book with dragons, magic, tiny lions and allsorts of monsters, how could you not love it?!

This book was very light hearted, and whilst there were some terrible things going on (doom of worlds and the like), the book lacked a serious side to it. This isn’t a negative of the book exactly but it was something I felt was missing. There were no scenes that utterly shocked me or make me feel like crying, which is something I like in a book because then it has everything you could want.

Overall this is a really enjoyable book and I really recommend you give it a go!

★★★☆☆ (maybe three and a half)

4 thoughts on “Review: The Unexpected Enlightenment of Rachel Griffin (L. Jagi Lamplighter)

  1. Thanks!!! So glad you liked it. (There are darker and more serious moments to come…but Book One only covers the beginning. 😉

  2. Hmmmm I see where the whole harry potter comparison came from but how does it relate to Narnia? This book seems a little like a YA harry potter though, great review, especially the bit about making flags I love it when MCsare so likeable like that. And gosh do I hate those airheads… Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

