Posted in Reviews

Review: Swipe (Evan Angler)

20131205-125151.jpg
The Book: Swipe.
The Author: Evan Angler.
The Publisher: Thomas Nelson
The Pages: 275
My Rating: 4/5

Logan Langly is just months away from his thirteenth birthday and the biggest day of his life––the day he will finally be Marked. The Mark lets people get jobs, vote, even go out to eat or buy concert tickets.

Becoming Marked means becoming free. Or so he is told. Five years ago when Logan’s sister went to get her Mark she never came back. Now Logan can’t shake the feeling he’s being watched…

And then he finds the wire.

Review

Such a gripping dystopian thriller, I can’t believe it took me so long to find this treasure! Full of mystery, suspense, conspiracy and plot twists galore! I read it in one sitting, I just couldn’t put it down!

Well developed characters? Believable characteristics? Realistic feeling character relationships? Check, check and check! This book had it all. The main character Logan, is coming up to his thirteenth birthday, coming up to the biggest day of his life. The day he gets the mark. But then he meets a girl and a mystery and his whole life is turned on its head. I’ve been lucky with books recently and the main characters have all been top-notch, and Logan was no different. He’s such a nice honest guy, brave and loyal. And even amidst the confusion he has a strong sense of what is right.

The story was so gripping! Agh! I need to start reading the second book like right now! It left me wanting more more more. The authors writing is superb and the world it’s set in is incredible. A great dystopian setting.

I really enjoyed this book, and have very high hopes for the rest of the series! If the next books aren’t as great I may just sit and cry for a few days.

I think this book was aimed at a slightly lower age group than I fall in as some of the language was quite simplistic. However I enjoyed it thoroughly all the same and think it can be enjoyed by someone of any age!

★★★★☆

5 thoughts on “Review: Swipe (Evan Angler)

  1. Great review! If I wasn’t half way through my own I’d read it based on this. Maybe you should get into marketing some day?

Leave a Reply

