Posted in Reviews

Review: Storm (Evan Angler)

20131217-211648.jpg
The Book: Storm (Swipe #3)
The Author: Evan Angler.
The Publisher: Thomas Nelson
The Pages: 266
My Rating: 3/5

In Storm, Logan and his friends are the leaders of the Markless revolution. But while some Markless are fighting Chancellor Cylis’ army, the Dust is busy trying to find a cure for a horrible epidemic sweeping through the Marked. And it’s difficult for them to know who to trust, especially when they aren’t sure if Logan’s sister Lily, one of the commanders in Cylis’ army, is on their side or not. And all across the nation—and the world—the weather has become less stable and a storm is brewing that bigger than any of them could have ever imagined.

Storm is the third book in the Swipe series. You can find my review for the first book, Swipe, here, and the second book, Sneak, here.

Review
The first book in this series dragged me in leaving me wanting more more more. The second one and this one however are not quite if the same standard. They’re good, don’t get me wrong, and I enjoyed reading them but they left me wanting more in a deprived way instead of an eager give me more give me more kind of way. (If that makes any sense aha).

The characters, the setting and the story are all of high quality. Drawing you in and making you care about what happens next. The twists and turns of the plot are sometimes predictable and sometimes shocking.

This book has a brilliant storyline but it’s really lacking that something that makes it into a book you can love. It’s like someone’s written a really detailed plot of the book saying everything that happened, only leaving out that emotion and struggle that pulls you in and makes it real. I’m really disappointed that I didn’t love this book as much as I thought I would, it had such potential and could have been a really truly brilliant book. Instead it’s just ‘meh‘.

So three stars, and I recommend if you want to give this series a go, definitely start with the first book.

★★★☆☆

Leave a Reply

