Posted in Reviews

Review: The Book Thief (Markus Zusak)

20131220-164459.jpg
The Book: The Book Thief
The Author: Markus Zusak
The Publisher: Black Swan
The Pages: 544
My Rating: 5/5

HERE IS A SMALL FACT – YOU ARE GOING TO DIE.
1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier. Liesel, a nine-year-old girl, is living with a foster family on Himmel Street. Her parents have been taken away to a concentration camp. Liesel steals books. This is her story and the story of the inhabitants of her street when the bombs begin to fall.
SOME IMPORTANT INFORMATION – THIS NOVEL IS NARRATED BY DEATH.
It’s a small story, about: a girl, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist fighter, and quite a lot of thievery.
ANOTHER THING YOU SHOULD KNOW – DEATH WILL VISIT THE BOOK THIEF THREE TIMES

Review
Words cannot fully express how much I love this book. I have never been able to choose one favourite book before, but after finishing The Book Thief there was no other conceivable option other than to give it the title of ‘My Favourite Book’.

It’s set in nazi germany, a period I have always loved to read about. But this is unlike any other book of its kind, narrated by death it has a unique twist on the usual predictable stories. Yeah it was sad and heartbreaking and everything that you’d expect, but it was also funny and shocking and just beautiful.

The writing style is really unique and beautiful. The way things are described and the little snippets of information and facts, so gorgeous. If you’ve read it you’ll know exactly what I mean, but for those who haven’t I’ll share one of my favourite quotes;

“Sometimes I think my Papa is an accordian. When he looks at me and smiles and breathes, I hear the notes.”

I can’t describe how brilliant and how much I absolutely loved the writing, but it has made this book a classic that will never get old.

The characters were complicated and perfectly imperfect. I tried to pick a favourite character but I just loved them all so much.

There is no way I can write any kind of review that will do this book justice, so I’ll just say that I recommend it a million million times and I think everyone should be required to read this book. I LOVED it.

★★★★★

2 thoughts on “Review: The Book Thief (Markus Zusak)

Leave a Reply

