Posted in Reviews

Review: Blinded by the Light (Joe Kipling)

20140130-114649.jpg
The Book: Blinded by the Light
The Author: Joe Kipling
The Publisher: Cillian Press
The Pages: 268
My Rating: 4/5

“Protected by the Boundary and guided by the Light MaryAnn enjoys a life of privilege, safe from the Feral Echoes who roam the Outside. It doesn’t matter that her friends can sometimes be cruel or the boy she likes just threw up on her shoes . . . . it’s all about being noticed at the right parties. It takes a single event to rip her life apart.

Struggling with physical and metal scars MaryAnn must face up to the truth about the foundations of the Neighbourhood and the legacy of her family. MaryAnn understands that once you learn the truth you can never go back . . . but can she really put her faith in the Union?”

Review.

Now, the dystopian genre has been one of my favourites recently. There have been excellent ones, terrible ones and ones that just seem like they’re trying too hard. Unfortunately the excellent ones are becoming rarer and you have to read 200 of the others to find a diamond. Now, I’ve done all the hard work and the searching for you, and I bring to you the diamond in the rough that is ‘Blinded by the Light’!

It’s a classic dystopian, with everything I love about the genre without seeming like it’s trying too hard. It’s scary in the way that something like that could actually happen and the world that appears perfect has so many layers of flaws that as the main character MaryAnn realised about these it left her and me wondering how we could have missed it in the first place. And like any good dystopian it highlights the problems in our world today at the same time.

I’m on a roll with books that have main characters that I like recently. MaryAnn was no exception. Although her attitude was annoying and abit snobbish at first you could see how this was a product of her society rather than a personal flaw. Then later on as she realises the truth her true character comes to light and she is so brilliant! She’s not gullible or weak and she doesn’t just accept everything she is told, by either side. She is her own person and it’s fab!

As for romance, this book was the perfect break from those ridiculous love at first sight, too quick romances and love triangles. There was a hint of romance, but it was more realistic and didn’t take over the story. It looks to me like a slow burning meaningful love rather than one of the typical ‘omg my world is falling apart but hey! He’s fit, I think I’m in love he’s my whole world, I should go say hi’ kind of loves.

I may have accidentally fangirled over this book, I really loved it. And oh my, I NEED the second one like now now now.

★★★★☆

3 thoughts on “Review: Blinded by the Light (Joe Kipling)

  1. This book sounds really good! I’ve had to be a little wary with the dystopia I read because so many are almost exact copies of each other but this one sounds really different!

Leave a Reply

