Posted in Blog Tour, Competition/Giveaway, Posts/Features, Reviews

The Seers by Julianna Scott (Blog Tour)

20140127-203959.jpg

I took part in a blog tour for the first book in the Holders series, now I bring to you the second book by the fabulous Julianna Scott. The Seers! (check out the tour schedule!)

20140127-204134.jpg
The Book: The Seers (The Holders #2)
The Author: Julianna Scott
The Publisher: Strange Chemistry
The Pages: 430
My Rating: 5/5

“After nearly being drained of her ability and betrayed by a man her father trusted, Becca Ingle was left with one clue — Ciaran Shea. He holds the key to the downfall of the power-mad Holder, Darragh, and can ensure the safety of both Holder and Human kind alike… but is he willing to help?

Becca, Alex, Jocelyn, and Cormac set out for Adare Manor to meet with the Bhunaidh, an aristocratic group of pure blooded Holders of whom Ciaran is a rumored member. However, when Becca discovers that they might not be the only ones after the information Ciaran has, everyone begins to wonder if Bhunaidh might not be as uninvolved with Darragh as they claim.

A race to uncover Ciaran’s secrets begins, where the line between friend and foe is blurred, and everyone seems to have their own agenda. Becca will have to call on every ability at her disposal to uncover the truth, all the while knowing that sometimes the answer is more dangerous than the question.”

Review

I want to start by saying this must be one of the most underrated books ever. This series has been one of the best I’ve read in a long time and yet it doesn’t seem to be as well known as it deserves. If you only take one thing from this whole review let it be this: Read this series.

If you’ve read my review of the first book, The Holders, you’ll know that I’m a huge fan of this series already. When I got hold of a review copy of this book I was torn between being super super excited for it and ridiculously nervous that I wouldn’t enjoy it as much as the first book.

Luckily, all was well and I absolutely adored this book. It was everything I loved about the first book; so gripping that I just couldn’t put it down.

The characters are all so brilliant in this book, each is so individual, not just an extra to support the main character. I fell in love with Becca, Alex, and the others in the first book and I’m happy to say I wasn’t disappointed by The seers at all!

The storyline was gripping. It literally had everything. Tense moments that had me gripping the pages a little too hard; mystery that left me clueless as to why the next twist would be, and emotional in a way that had me laughing, crying and gasping throughout. (And I’m not just saying that, I really mean it. I had my hand over my mouth half gasping and half crying more times than I’d like to admit!)

One of the best things about The Seers was that Becca is still the most likeable main character that I’ve come across in a long time. She’s passionate, temperamental and feisty whilst still being honest and brave and loyal. The way she sees the other characters and the situations is so refreshing and a welcome break from the small minded heroes of more recent books. Also there’s a new character introduced in this book called Bastian, and oh my gosh he is so brilliant. His humour and his character is perfect, he’s just the personality that was missing from an otherwise perfect book!

So yeah, I may have fangirled slightly over this book. So please go and read The Holders, then read The Seers! Quickly now!

★★★★★

The Author!

20140127-205117.jpg
The author of this fabulous series is Julianna Scott, who is one of the most lovely and brilliant authors I’ve ha the privilege to talk to! Here’s a link to an interview I did with her back when I was part of her blog tour for her first book!

20140127-211050.jpg
The Seers is the second book in this series, and I’m telling you that you absolutely MUST go an read the first book: The Holders. You can find my review for it here.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

One thought on “The Seers by Julianna Scott (Blog Tour)

Leave a Reply

