Posted in Reviews

Review: Poison Study (Maria V. Snyder)

Image
The Book: Poison Study (Chronicles of Ixia #1)
The Author: Maria V. Snyder
The Publisher: Mira
The Pages: 361
My Rating: 5/5

Choose:  A quick death or slow poison …

On the eve of her execution for murder, Yelena Zaltana is offered an incredible reprieve – on the condition that she becomes the food taster for the military leader of Ixia, Commander Ambrose.

Avoiding poison is the least of her troubles, however … General Brazell, father of the man she killed, has vowed bloody revenge; she’s beginning to have feelings for her captor, Valek; and someone is plotting the downfall of the current regime.

In a desperate race against time, Yelena must learn to control the growing magical talent withinn her and master the demons of her past.  The Commander’s life, the future of Ixia and all those she loves depend on it …

Review.

What can I say about this book? I’d been hearing very good things about this author so when I spotted this book with the stunning cover I practically pounced on it. And I am oh so glad that I did. I thoroughly enjoyed every second of it.

Its a story about a troubled yet brilliant girl, Yelena, who is given the choice between hanging or risk a slow death by poison everyday as the Commanders food taster.
Already just after hearing this I was sold, NEED TO READ THIS BOOK, was the only thought in my head.

The main character, Yelena, I wasn’t sure if I liked at first but she grew on me and quickly became one of my favourite heroines! She’s smart, tough and sarcastic. My three favourite things.
But now, onto the most important character (in my opinion), Valek. The most perfect fictional fella ever to ‘live’. He jumped right to the top of my book-boyfriend list (yep I have a list…).
Other than the brilliant Valek, if there was another character I’d want to pull out of this book it would have to be Ari and Janco, I LOVED them, so funny they provided the normal joy of friendship that is often overlooked in a lot of recent books!
One of my fave things about the characters has to be the twist involving the Commander (I wont spoil it for you), it was a complete surprise and it was nice to see these things in books, a lot of authors have perfect ‘normal’ character and never anything a bit different! (you’ll probably read this book now just to find out what this ‘twist’ is!)

This book had all the things I love, potential book boyfriends, magic, castles, asssasins and mystery! I would so so so love to live in the world of Ixia. Its magical, with fire festivals and Valek… (sigh, why isn’t he real?).

Call me shallow, but I think this book is worth buying even if its purely for the reason that the series covers all match and look FAB together!

Seriously though, go and get yourself a copy. So worth it. And I will most definitely be reading more from this author! If you’re a fan of throne of glass (who isn’t?!) then I’d especially beg you to read this. Excellent book, I couldn’t fault it.

★★★★★

2 thoughts on “Review: Poison Study (Maria V. Snyder)

Leave a Reply

