Posted in Reviews

Review: The 100 by Kass Morgan

17332969

The Book: The 100 (The 100 #1)
The Author: Kass Morgan
The Publisher: Hodder
The Pages: 323
My Rating: 3.5/5

In the future, humans live in city-like spaceships orbiting far above Earth’s toxic atmosphere. No one knows when, or even if, the long-abandoned planet will be habitable again. But faced with dwindling resources and a growing populace, government leaders know they must reclaim their homeland… before it’s too late.

Now, one hundred juvenile delinquents are being sent on a high-stakes mission to recolonize Earth. After a brutal crash landing, the teens arrive on a savagely beautiful planet they’ve only seen from space. Confronting the dangers of this rugged new world, they struggle to form a tentative community. But they’re haunted by their past and uncertain about the future. To survive, they must learn to trust – and even love – again.

Review:


This book has been on my to-read list for a while, so when I started watching the series on E4 I realised I needed to read this ASAP! I picked it up for the bargain price of £1.99 from The Works, YAY FOR ME!

First things first, if you want to read this book to get ahead of the action in the series, don’t bother. The series is already way way ahead. Also major major plot differences. The general plot is the same but oh my life the details have strayed, a lot. So yeah, my advice would be to read it before you watch the series or even after its finished because you’ll just end up confused.

The main character Clarke is a fantastic person, I’d seriously love her as a friend. She kind and loyal and I felt like I could connect to her. Wells is a douche. He’s supposed to be a good guy who did a bad thing for a good reason, but honestly? He did an absolutely horrific thing for a pathetic selfish reason. Bellamy, well Bellamy I absolutely love. Hes the other half of the only siblings in the universe, ad he did things he regrets to protect his sister Octavia. Hes real, hes funny and I think he’s made it onto my book-boyfriends list… Glass isn’t in the series but shes an important character in the book. Whilst the others are struggling down on Earth, Glass is showing us the struggles of life up on the ARK. The narrative jumps around each of these characters perspectives and it actually works really well giving us a well rounded clear picture of what’s going on.

The characters in the book are ‘good’, the plot is ‘good’, the world-building is ‘good’. Did I enjoy the book? Yes. Did I connect to the characters? Yes.
But did this book blow me away? Was it gripping and heartbreaking and nerve-racking? Was I thrusting it in peoples faces screaming READ IT READ IT NOW!?

No.

It was an enjoyable read and I would recommend it and I’ll definitely be picking up the next book in the series, but it felt like an introductory book. We met the characters, the first major thing happened, a few secrets were revealed and we got to know everyone, there was even a cliff-hanger ending. However, not much actually happened. I mean you might read this and completely disagree with me, and maybe it’s because I’ve watched the series and so it just felt dragged out. Who knows? But that was the feeling I got.

Overall I cant really fault this book, it was good just not fantastic. I give it three and a half stars and I definitely recommend it and for once I actually recommend the TV series too, I’m enjoying it immensely.

★★★★☆

 

3 thoughts on “Review: The 100 by Kass Morgan

  1. I agree with everything you said — despite having yet to finish reading my copy. I watched the series, too, and was a bit reluctant in reading the books just because I didn’t want to relieve everything once more but yes, the stories are so different from each other and there are several elements in the book that I much prefer to the tv series. It is also true that the actual gripping events aren’t that many but I think that in a way it works. I’m reaching the book’s final stage and feel satisfied with it. It’s not brilliant, no, but it is good.
    Great review!

Leave a Reply

