Posted in Reviews, Uncategorized

Review: Legend by Marie Lu

15753977
The Book: Legend.
The Author: Marie Lu
The Publisher: Penguin
The Pages: 448
My Rating: 4/5

Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles.

Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths – until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect.
Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

Review:

I first read this book as an ARC when it first came out and I loved it then, I lost my review for it but I’ve recently e-read it when I bought the whole series and oh my, do I love this book. It has to be one of the most underrated YA dystopians ever. Everyone should seriously read this book.

The writing is just spectacular, its not overdone tring too hard like some YA books, its simple, to the point and still makes me care about the world and the characters. Its one of those books you just devour. You can’t put it down, you cant stop reading. Everyone just go away I MUST FINISH.

6696189

The main characters Day and June are brilliant. I love the way that him and June are the same yet completely different. Theyre both intelligent and resourceful, they care about the people close to them in a massive way.
June is the Prodigy, perfect score on her Trial, intelligent and tough. She could do anything she wanted. She’s independent and knows her own mind. I loved her.
Day was born into the poor sectors of the Republic, he’s a wanted criminal. But he’s kind and good and brilliant in his own way.

June is searching for her brothers killer and Day is out to look after his family, then they meet and everything changes.

The world they live in is a fantastic example of Dystopia, it makes sense and its perfectly crafted. Marie Lu is a genius.

The other characters; Tess, Metias, Thomas and even Day’s family are all fab. I hate it when side characters have no substance to them, like they’re not people but just pawns to push the main characters stories along. There’s none of that here, all the characters are as well crafted as June and Day. I would love to see more of Thomas’s character. He needs his own side story because I just need to see into his head and know why he does what he does.

I’m dying to start reading Prodigy, I want to know where June and Days actions will take them next.

I recommend this to lovers of Dystopian fiction. I just know you’ll love it as much as I did!

★★★★☆

Leave a Reply

