Posted in Reviews

Series Review: Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi

untitled

The Books: Shatter Me(#1), Unravel Me(#2), Ignite Me(#3), Destroy Me(#1.5), Fracture Me(#2.5)
The Author: Tahereh Mafi
The Publisher: Harper Collins
My Rating: 3.5/5

Shatter Me: No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal, but The Reestablishment has plans for her. Plans to use her as a weapon. But Juliette has plans of her own. After a lifetime without freedom, she’s finally discovering a strength to fight back for the very first time—and to find a future with the one boy she thought she’d lost forever.

Destroy Me: Set after Shatter Me and before Unravel Me, the spellbinding sequel, Destroy Me is a novella told from the perspective of Warner, the ruthless leader of Sector 45.

Unravel Me: Juliette is still haunted by her deadly touch. But now that she has teamed up with other rebels with powers of their own, she’ll be able to fight back against The Reestablishment to save her broken world. With the help of these new allies, she’ll also finally learn the secret behind Adam’s—and Warner’s—immunity to her killer skin.

Fracture Me: In this electrifying sixty-page companion novella to the New York Times bestselling Shatter Me series, discover the fate of the Omega Point rebels as they go up against The Reestablishment. Set during and soon after the final moments of Unravel Me, Fracture Me is told from Adam’s perspective.

Ignite Me: With Omega Point destroyed, Juliette doesn’t know if the rebels, her friends, or even Adam are alive. But that won’t keep her from trying to take down The Reestablishment once and for all. Now she must rely on Warner, the handsome commander of Sector 45. The one person she never thought she could trust. The same person who saved her life. He promises to help Juliette master her powers and save their dying world . . . but that’s not all he wants with her.

Review:

First of all I absolutely have to mention… THE COVERS. Oh my eyes. They are so so so beautiful. Hats off to whoever designed these beauties. The books are worth buying just to have such gorgeousness on my bookshelf. *swoon*

tumblr_inline_mhdagoaGJV1qz4rgp

I remember when I first read Shatter Me I was intrigued by the idea but a little put of by Tahereh Mafi’s writing style. It was too much for me, too poetic and struck me as trying too hard and failing. It was distracting me from the story. Some of the lines had me stopping like really?! Why oh why? That makes no sense and is actually quite disturbing.

“My words wear no parachutes as they fall out of my mouth”

“The sky is raining bricks right into my skull.”

“My eyes break open. Two shattered windows filling my mouth with glass.”

“He shifts and my eyes shatter into thousands of pieces that ricochet around the room, capturing a million snapshots, a million moments in time. Flickering images faded with age, frozen thoughts hovering precariously in dead space, a whirlwind of memories that slice through my soul.”

tumblr_m9j9qsPkdu1qcwic6
Ugh, Its like that all the way through, constantly. It really grates on my nerves. It’s just unneeded and quite frankly annoying.

Despite this I pushed on through the book. I’d heard some good reviews that advised me to just get used to the writing style and keep going. So I did. Eventually you just sort of get used to the over use of metaphors that barely make sense.

The world its set in isn’t too bad but it isn’t focused on enough, or else we missed it in-between the personifications of the sun and metaphors about breathing. Its a typical dystopia, world gone wrong little group of rebels out to save everything. Except this group of rebels all have magical powers.

Magic_meme

It’s very X-Men gone wrong. They keep saying they have some big plan but really they don’t seem to be doing much. From what I gathered there aren’t very many of them and they plan to attack someone or someplace in Sector 45 where they live and win (plausible), then they’re gonna somehow use this victory to save everyone across the entire country… (not plausible). It struck me as badly thought out.

And Omega Point (rebels really cool little hideout) just seems to be used as a stage for Juliette and Adams relationship (if you can even call it that) drama. I mean come on! So much potential to make me fall in love and be dying to go to Omega Point and its just tarnished by stupid arguments. This at least is pointed out by the fantastic Kenji, who straight up lets them know that they are being dumb. (Kenji is fab btw).

In the first book Juliette is annoying whiny and childish. I get that she’d been locked up for ages on her own so she was bound to be less than her best but ugh seriously, I just wanted someone to put her back in her cell.

Adam has the personality of a potato. An especially bland potato. He is boring and dull and all he has going for him is his ridiculous insta-love for Juliette. I HATE INSTA-LOVE. They tried to play it off as childhood sweethearts but seriously she let someone cheat off her when she was nine and suddenly Adam thinks she’s gods gift. He treats her like some kind sweet innocent little flower that he needs to protect. She’s a kind person, that doesn’t make her an endangered species Adam, jeez. Juliette is tough under all her whining, anyone could see that. She needs to be pushed and challenged to wake up the real Juliette inside, not coddled.

I get Juliette instant attraction to Adam, first person to be able to touch her her whole life? Shes gonna feel something. That something however is not love, if anything its lust and the first taste of friendship she’s ever had all mushed up. And that’s being generous to Mr Dull Potato Adam. The only redeeming quality to Adam is his love for is brother James. I do love it when YA shows some good sibling relationships.

As for the other characters; James is adorable and funny, loved him. Kenji is fantastic, seriously fantastic. Id give him his own book. I want him as my new best friend, loved loved loved him. Castle was not so great although I did like his and Kenji’s relationship.

Finally, Warner. My oh my oh my.
images8CYZTPSH
What a character. I think hes responsible for at least 3 stars of my review. Without him I would not have been able to read on. He is amazing, fanastic, brilliant, perfect… AAAGH, there are no words for him…

iZd4XDusrHQh4

He is exactly what I needed Juliette needed. He brings out the best in her even when he’s not with her. And so by the end of the series Juliette becomes a kickass main character who knows what she wants, all thanks to my boyfriend Warner.

The first two books are mediocre, 2 stars for Shatter Me and 3 for Unravel Me. Ignite me is by far the best of the triology, 4 stars. Destroy Me gets 3.5 and Fracture Me gets a measly 1.5 stars because Adam is just so BORING.

Overall I give the series as a whole 3.5 stars. If you can power through the first book then well done! and keep going!

Let me know your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

