Posted in Reviews

Review: Imitation by Heather Hildenbrand

22845365

The Book: Imintation
The Author: Heather Hildenbrand
The Publisher: Alloy Entertainment
The Pages: 272
My Rating: 2.5/5

Everyone is exactly like me. There is no one like me.Ven wrestles with these contradicting truths every day. A clone of wealthy eighteen-year-old Raven Rogen, Ven knows everything about the girl she was created to serve: the clothes she wears, the boys she loves, the friends she loves to hate. Yet she’s never met the Authentic Raven face-to-face.

Imitations like Ven only get to leave the lab when they’re needed—to replace a dead Authentic, donate an organ, or complete a specific mission. And Raven has never needed Ven . . . until now.

When there is an attack on Raven’s life, Ven is thrust into the real world, posing as Raven to draw out the people who tried to harm her. But as Ven dives deeper into Raven’s world, she begins to question everything she was ever told. She exists for Raven, but is she prepared to sacrifice herself for a girl she’s never met?

Review:

I got a hold of this book through Netgalley, and I admit I requested it because of the cover… I know I know you shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover but it looked so good. Then I read the blurb and I thought Okay, this could be good!

I finished this book within a day, Its interesting enough to keep you hooked and the writing isn’t too awful. There’s a nice array of characters. There’s the typical main character, who is kind and compassionate blah blah blah. Then there’s the insta-love interest, broody and tough and hawtttttt, then all of a sudden falls in love and becomes soft and gentle and boring. The big bad guy (who I pictured as a cross between Hades from the cartoon Hercules film and Mrs Trunchbull from matilda), mean, evil no hidden depths. There was even a fiery rebel character (red-headed, how original). Template for a typical dystopian.

The storyline is fairly interesting. Ven is clone of Raven Rogen, a rich snobby girl that she’s never met. When Raven is attacked they bring Ven in to pretend to be Raven to lure out the attackers. In the meantime Ven falls in love and finds out what it means to be human, oh and starts to uncover some clone rebellion.

There were a few things that I didn’t quite get. Some are probably genuine plot holes and some are most likely me just being slow. First it’s never explained what happened to Raven, was she kidnapped by the attackers or did her dad squirrel her away somewhere for safe-keeping? If her dad has her then maybe instead of shouting at Ven for not being Raven enough (even though she’s supposedly trained for it her whole life) he should’ve used the real Raven to teach her? Just a thought.
If the people attacking Ven wanted her because she was an imitation and they wanted to help, then why be so god-damn mean? When they’re trying to grab her the attacker is all ‘I know what you are, product’. Maybe its just me but I probably would’ve gone for something more along the lines of ‘I know you’re an Imitation, let me help you / free you’. And were the people attacking Ven the same ones attacking Raven? It wasn’t explained too well.

There were other parts that had me stopping like huh? Like how the author made one guys clone a girl? That doesn’t really work, a clone is an exact copy, some personality traits might be different because of the up-bringing and all but the sex would be the same.

I also didn’t like how Ven just outright hated Raven. She’s never even met her! Jus because she acts bitchy doesn’t mean she’s shallow and meaningless. Ven even said herself how acting angry was useful in those situations, but never thought to apply these epiphanies to Raven.

And MORE FREAKIN INSTA LOVE! When will authors stop?! Just cause it takes a few days for them to go from strangers to ‘in-love’, doesn’t make it any less instalove!
tumblr_mbgc3dum4T1riqizno1_500
I want a build up, I want them to connect, maybe even be friends first before the ‘my whole world shattered and re-aligned with him at the centre’ bullshit.

Overall, the story was actually quite gripping, and despite the huge amount of flaws the writing was good and I found myself enjoying it. It was an easy read and I will probably be picking up the next book as the denouement of Imitation was unsatisfying and I’m sincerely hoping it picks up in the next book.

2 thoughts on “Review: Imitation by Heather Hildenbrand

Leave a Reply

