Posted in Reviews

Review: More Than This by Patrick Ness

21969786

The Book: More Than This
The Author: Patrick Ness
The Publisher: Walker Books
The Pages: 480
My Rating: 4/5

A boy drowns, desperate and alone in his final moments. He dies.

Then he wakes, naked and bruised and thirsty, but alive.

How can this be? And what is this strange deserted place?

As he struggles to understand what is happening, the boy dares to hope. Might this not be the end? Might there be more to this life, or perhaps this afterlife?
Review.

Do I even need to say anything? This is Patrick Ness. He is just a shining example of what an author should be. I mean, come on! Have you read his Chaos Walking trilogy? (Oh Manchee!) (If you haven’t, please step away from the screen and scuttle away AND GO READ IT… then come back!)
I devoured his Chaos Walking trilogy and I’m dying to read ‘A Monster Calls’, so it’s no surprise I snatched this book up as soon as I saw it. I LOVE YOU PATRICK NESS.

tumblr_mf89qwKWRp1qmt85zo2_400

Have you ever felt like there has to be more than this? Of course you have, hasn’t everyone? Patrick Ness captures that feeling perfectly in this book. That feeling and his compelling array of characters have been haunting me since I turned the last page. I mean seriously, friggin fantastic characters. No ridiculous stereotypes or flat secondary characters, they were are so real and so beautiful. Yay for you Patrick! (I especially loved Tomasz, I just want to grab him and hug him)

You start this book by thinking ok YA about the afterlife maybe? Book: but it’s so much more than this.

It keeps you guessing till the very last page, not a predictable plot twist in sight. It’s gripping and memorable. Its about love and loss, fear and bravery, hopelessness and hope. My brain is still jumbled thinking about it. But it was definitely beautiful.

I think even without all the love and loss and beautiful stuff, it was still one of the best books I’ve read this year. It was exciting and interesting, I love to be kept guessing. It had action and suspense. Is it fantasy, or a dystopia? Or something else altogether? Either way, it’s a whole new way to YA.

I love how YA can go from something like The Hunger Games or Divergent to Noughts and Crosses to The Lunar Chronicles and just when you think you’ve got it down it throws something like this at you (and from what I’ve read so far, also Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld) -redefining YA one heart-stopping novel at a time.

I hope Patrick Ness writes more, because there is no doubt that I will read it. (now you should go read this and The Chaos Walking trilogy and as mch YA as you can get your hands on because it’s quickly becoming the most diverse genre).

One thought on “Review: More Than This by Patrick Ness

Leave a Reply

