Posted in Reviews

Review: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

  • 18001355

    The Book: Shadow and Bone (The Grisha #1)
    The Author: Leigh Bardugo
    The Publisher: Indigo
    The Pages: 307
    My Rating: 4/5 stars
    The Shadow Fold, a swathe of impenetrable darkness, crawling with monsters that feast on human flesh, is slowly destroying the once-great nation of Ravka.

    Alina, a pale, lonely orphan, discovers a unique power that thrusts her into the lavish world of the kingdom’s magical elite – the Grisha. Could she be the key to unravelling the dark fabric of the Shadow Fold and setting Ravka free?

    The Darkling, a creature of seductive charm and terrifying power, leader of the Grisha. If Alina is to fulfil her destiny, she must discover how to unlock her gift and face up to her dangerous attraction to him.

    But what of Mal, Alina’s childhood best friend? As Alina contemplates her dazzling new future, why can’t she ever quite forget him?

    Review.

    The hype monster (bogeyman for bloggers) got a hold of this entire trilogy and relentlessly smashed into my face again and again, screaming that it was the most incredible book ever and I would face imminent death by hype overload if I didn’t read it RIGHT NOW.

    gimme-gimme-GIF
    Now, as you well know, when a hype monster smacks you with a book, that book loses abit of its fantastic-ness with every SMACK (5 star reviews everywhere) SMACK (endless recommendations) SMACK (readitreaditreaditreaditnow)… Until eventually you’re left with a book that leaves you massively underwhelmed.

    you-liar
    BUT! I can say (with a smile upon my face, no less!) that I thoroughly enjoyed Shadow and Bone. YAAAAAAY FOR ME.

    The setting was fab, I loved it from the Little Palace to the mountains to creepy-as-hell Shadow Fold. There was no massive info-dumps, we learnt about the world and it’s ways as the story went on.

    There was action, romance, sexy times (you know you love ’em), suspense and even some heart-breaking moments.
    It’s all love and power and betrayal. Its basically brilliant.

    The characters are, well honestly they’re pretty super. The main character Alina is sarcastic and sassy, just how we love our main gals. But she wasn’t some super beautiful, goregeously stunning perfect girl *hair swoosh*, she was pale and plain. I know plain looking MC’s aren’t new but all the books I’ve read recently have had girls with perfect looks who are all, you think I’m pretty?! Like ugh, shut up already (I’m talking to you Violet from The Jewel).
    Mal was nice, I liked that it wasn’t the typical best friend scenario (I’m looking at you Clary and Simon– Mortal Instruments and so many others). He was real and I kinda love him. Just a bit! Or maybe a bit more than a bit…
    Genya was one of my favourite secondary characters ever, now that’s a tough woman/girl. She was awesome and real and please can she be my friend?

    Ok ok ok, omg omg omg… if you know me at all you already know where this is going…

    The Darkling…
    post-19832-Olivia-Wilde-and-Stephen-Colbe-r4qf
    You should know by now that I love me a bad boy (evil boy), and the Darkling was that. Even before we met him peoperly he oozed evil badboy hotness. And we see him get all human (ish) laughing and emotions and hotness.

    But But But. ( I won’t spoil anything ) I just feel so betrayeddddddddd. (That’s Leigh Bardugo’s awesome writing for you, I was FEELING along with the book and oh my heart).

    tumblr_inline_nax9y0HZYn1syd9pa And oh it was pretty clear what was gonna happen but still…

    tumblr_mx08fboWcK1rzik3go1_500And despite everything that happened I haven’t given up hope, I STILL LOVE YOU.

    812472But for now…

    tumblr_n2zmcw1It71s1rwswo8_r1_250tumblr_n2zmcw1It71s1rwswo7_r1_250

So why oh why is there a missing star when I’ve pretty much raved about this book?

Well partly that pesky Hype monster is to blame ( I picture him like that huggy thing from the old cup-a-soup adverts, but holding a book and pummelling my face with it.) I was expecting this book to BLOW ME AWAY, I thought I was going to be left in a million pieces with my heart torn out and trampled whilst still saying yay thankyou great book can I read it again please please please…

Instead, whilst I couldn’t fault it, it was just gently-brilliant, not in-your-face-fantastic.

Overall, stunning cover, brilliant book and I’ll without a doubt be reading the next two books, just hoping they’ll blow me away!

Now I know you have an opion on this book (if you’ve read it)! So tell me! And if you haven’t, are you planning to?

One thought on “Review: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Leave a Reply

