Posted in Reviews

Review: The Fire Sermon by Francesca Haig

Adobe Photoshop PDF

The Book: The Fire Sermon
The Author: Francesca Haig
The Pages: 423
My Rating: 3.5 / 5 stars

Published on: 26th Feb, 2015

When Zach and I were born our parents must have counted and recounted: limbs, fingers, toes. We were perfect. They would have been disbelieving: nobody dodged the split between Alpha and Omega.
Nobody.

They were born together and they will die together.
One strong Alpha twin and one mutated Omega; the only thing they share is the moment of their death.
The Omegas live in segregation, cast out by their families as soon as their mutation becomes clear. Forced to live apart, they are ruthlessly oppressed by their Alpha counterparts.
The Alphas are the elite. Once their weaker twin has been cast aside, they’re free to live in privilege and safety, their Omega twin far from their thoughts.
Cass and Zach are both perfect on the outside: no missing limbs, no visible Omega mutation. But Cass has a secret: one that Zach will stop at nothing to expose.
The potential to change the world lies in both their hands. One will have to defeat the other to see their vision of the future come to pass, but if they’re not careful both will die in the struggle for power.

Review.

I received a review copy of this in 2014 and I was beyond excited. The premise was so original and everyone was buzzing with anticipation. It did not disappoint. (and ooooh cover-lust)

Every birth now results in twins, one boy and one girl, one perfect Alpha and one mutated Omega. The omega twin is cast out as soon as they are identified as the weaker twin and the Alpha is free to live unburdened. Or not quite unburdened, as when one twin dies so does the other no matter where they are. I mean come on! How awesome does that sound?!

I thought the world building was good and Francesca’s writing created some brilliant imagery for me. I loved the world they lived in (though obviously it had his major faults) the different landscapes and terrain Cass and Kip travel through was beautifully imagined. I really enjoyed travelling with them.

The main character Cass, while I didn’t immediately connect with her, nonetheless felt very real. She was complex and a kickass heroine. She wasn’t unrealistically strong or tough, but she was brilliant and her main strength wasn’t her abilities but the way she viewed the world and her compassion.

Kip, although I loved him, never felt real to me, which was really sad because his character could have been the most interesting. He was always with Cass but didn’t just blindly agree with everything she said, if he thought something different he’d voice it. Plus I love reading about amnesia, even if it wasn’t hugely focused on.

YES! WOOP! YAAAA! Why am I exclaiming in joy?! -because there was romance in this book and it was NOT insta-love! See how easy that was authors? Never an excuse for insta love, bleugh.
No it wasn’t the sloooooooow-burn romance that I love so much, but it felt natural to me so yay, well done to Francesca!
thumbs-up

And oh I just loved reading about the relationship between Cass and Zach. Sibling relationships are so not focused on enough in a lot of the YA I’ve read recently. I love it because no matter what happens between siblings that connection cannot be broken, it can be damaged but never destroyed. I love it, I love it, I love it! Aaagh, it just adds a whole new dynamic to the conflict.
I especially loved reading about their childhood and because they were raised together longer than usual they had chance to really bond in a way that other twins hadn’t. I think that’s what makes Cass so special.

This is a really rambled (is that a word?) review because I just cant make up my mind about this book. It was good and I enjoyed it but it didn’t blow me away (so no to a five or four star rating). However the idea is interesting and original, the twist at the end was awesome and yay siblings!
So I’d probably rate it 3.5 and definitely recommend you give this a go!

2 thoughts on “Review: The Fire Sermon by Francesca Haig

  1. There might not have been instalove but I still feel as though it tried to hint a love-triangle LOL. I would have been bashing my head in if instalove was actually a thing since Cass and company were all 20+ years of age when the story takes off (making them not really YA as I first imagined this would have been!)

    This just reminds me that I need to get on my arc review too!

    1. Its strange that they were all that age, they felt alot younger to me! But yeah i was on the verge of screaming when i thought a love triangle was coming into it.
      I didnt write the review as soon as id finished the book and i feel like ive missed loads i wanted to say! But aagh i did love the ending!

      Thanks for the comment though chika and look forward to your review (hopefully its mire coherent than mine)

Leave a Reply

