Posted in Blog Tour, Reviews

Blog Tour! Review: Shadow Study by Maria V. Snyder

Shadow Study (Soulfinders, #1)Shadow Study by Maria V. Snyder

Title: Shadow Study (Soulfinders #1) (Chronicles of Ixia #7)
Author: Maria V. Snyder
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Okokokok, so I am a HUGE fan of the Chronicles of Ixia novels. The first book, Poison Study is my absolute favourite of the series, a five star read that I 100% recommend!

The Chronicles of Ixia started with the Study trilogy (Poison Study, Magic Study and Fire Study) following Yelena, then Maria V. Snyder gifted us with the another insight into this world with the Glass trilogy (Sea Glass, Storm Glass and Spy Glass) which follow a character called Opal. Now Shadow Study is the first in the Soulfinders series but its technically like book 7 in the Chronicles of Ixia.

So this book has been long awaited by me, I thought we were done with this world and so when I heard about this book I absolutely had to get my hands on a copy. It’s set 6 years after the events of the last book and follows Yelena, Valek and Janco with chapters alternating from each of their POV. This worked quite well and I enjoyed being in Valek and Janco’s head, a new insight from the previous books. However, at times, it was quite frustrating being cut off at the end of each chapter and knowing I had to wait like two chapters to carry on with what was happening, it occasionally pulled me out of the story whilst I tried to remember what was happening.

I love the characters in this series, I mean Yelena is one of my all time favourite heroines. She’s tough and resourceful but she’s not perfect and she doesn’t pretend to be. She’s honest and loyal and overall a really really likeable character (although I will admit she annoyed me temporarily in Fire Study, but she really came through and hey, nobody’s perfect!)
And Valek, oh Valek! What can I say? SWOON SWOON SWOON. Top of my book-boyfriends list! He’s everything I want. He’s more than just a love interest, he’s a brilliant character (assassin I might add!) all by himself. He’s not petty or shallow in his relationship with Yelena, and there is no insta-love! Its a perfect slow-burn turned epic love! My favourite thing about him is he doesn’t treat Yelena like a fragile girl, he knows what she’s capable of and he lets her handle things. He doesn’t coddle her when she’s being stupid, instead he calls her out on it and lets her deal with it and then doesn’t hold it against her afterwards. YES VALEK! He’s perfect.
So yeah, clearly I really enjoyed Valek POV chapters, especially getting to experience the flashbacks of his past and how he became the badass assassin he is today.
And YES! We got more Ari and Janco! I LOVE THEM, they’re just fantastic.

Another of my favourite aspects about this series is the world-building, my oh my, it is fantastic. Its all historical fiction, fantasy, magic and assassins ugh I can’t get enough.

AND DEAR LORD THE ENDING! THE GORYDAMNED ENDING! I NEVER EVEN SAW IT COMING OMG!

So what the hell are you waiting for?! GO AND READ! (I definitely recommend reading poison study and the other books first if you haven’t already! You can still follow this book without them but they are so damn fab why would you want to?!)

I am so damn excited for the next book, it’s unreal. Please let me know your thoughts on this book, or any of the Chronicles of Ixia books, I wanna fangirl with you all!

View my 2015 reads so far!

Leave a Reply

