Posted in meme, Posts/Features, Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves (8) -I’m back and ooh look dragons

  

“Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!”

All my love to Tygna’s Reviews for keeping this going. All the love and pizza to you 

  
Oh I do love this meme. It’s like a free pass to brag about all my books (all the book buying!) but to people who actually care (I hope) and I don’t feel so bad cause everyone’s doing the same thing!

I won’t stack up all the books I’ve received since I last did this post because it would be insanely long due to my super long hiatus (and my inability to exercise self control in waterstones) . I will just do some of the more recent / my favourites.

The first thing I need to mention is that I have been reading on my kindle! (Well the app on my phone). This is kind of a big deal as I’m very on the side of physical books in The Great Debate. But I can’t sneakily ready Robin Hobb at my desk at work with the physical copy (huuuuge beast of a book, not subtle) but with my phone buried amongst the paper on the deal (lots of paper) I can get away with reading lots. (Work, I’m sorry not sorry. Robin Hobb is fab).

So I bought and downloaded the liveship traders trilogy  

 
Which is amazing! Because pirates and sea serpents and dragons and magic and oooooh.

Then I may have accidentally finished those and bought the Rain Wild Chronicles series. Because ahhhh more dragons.

  
And the cover lust is intense.

While Robin Hobb has been my fantasy fix for the beginning of 2016, in the winter of 2015 it was all about Brandon Sanderson.

Starting with th Mistborn series…

  
(Which I cannot even put into words how much I loved. So so brilliant.)

And then onto the Stormlight Archives series (still not finished come on Brandon!)

   
 
Which is just so amazing, even with drawings throughout that are just so beautiful. 

  
And also Warbreaker and Elantris!

So as you’ve guessed I’m in love with Robin Hobb and Brandon Sanderson’s books. And I’m thoroughly into a fantasy phase right now.

Unfortunately I am pretty new to this genre, so any recommendations would be more than appreciated!

Have you read any of these? Who else do you think I’d enjoy? (There’s virtual cake for anyone who recommends me someone I end up loving as much as these). 

Comment and let me know and feel free to leave a link back to your blog if you have one, I’m feeling abit disconnected! x x

4 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (8) -I’m back and ooh look dragons

  1. Great haul! I’m starting to get into fantasy as well! I’m planning to pick up Assassin’s Quest soon, so I can move on to the Liveship Traders trilogy! I really love Robin Hobb as well! Last year I read The Lies of Locke Lamora and really enjoyed it! I’ve also heard lots of good things about Theft of Swords but I haven’t found the time to read it yet. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

